Fred Pattison Piano Competition

Fred PattisonThe Fred Pattison Piano Award at the Don Wright Faculty of Music is awarded to the winner of an annual piano competition. In addition to receiving a cash award, the winner will give a public performance the following academic year. Proceeds from the Fred Pattison Award Fund support the annual competition and cash prize.

Dr. Pattison was Western’s former Head of Chemistry (1959-65) and Director of Student Health Services (1973-88). He passed away in August 2010. Dr. Pattison had a great passion for the piano and spent many hours enjoying performances in von Kuster Hall at the Faculty of Music. This award reflects his love of music and his desire to reward excellence in piano performance. 2008-09 was the inaugural year for this competition.

Fred Pattison Piano Award Winner's Recital featuring 2022 winner Songlee Kim

Thursday, January 19, 2023 | 8pm
von Kuster Hall

Fred Pattison Piano Award 2023 Competition – Final Round

Friday, January 20, 2023 | 8pm
von Kuster Hall

Masterclass with Competition Adjudicator David Rogosin

Saturday, January 21, 2023 | 10am
von Kuster Hall


Friday, Jan 13, 2023 by 12 pm

To register, students must email the following information to

  • Student name
  • Repertoire for each round, including the duration of each piece (10 mins for Round One, 20-30 mins for the Final Round)
  • In lieu of a signature, copy your studio teacher on the email.

2022-23 Competition Details

The Fred Pattison Piano Award is awarded to a first-, second-, third-, or fourth-year full-time student enrolled in a Music Degree program, whose principal instrument is piano. Fourth year students can only participate if they are returning for a Master of Music program or One-Year Artist Diploma the following year. Repertoire is limited to solo piano works only; concertos are not permitted.

The competition consists of two rounds:

Round One – Live Audition

Students should prepare 10 minutes of music for Round One, which will be performed live in front of the adjudicator only. This round is not open to the public. A maximum of 10 minutes of music should be chosen carefully to demonstrate technique, range, and musicality. Repertoire performed in Round One may also be repeated in the Final Round.

Final Round – Public Performance

Each of the finalists will perform a minimum of 20 minutes to a maximum of 30 minutes of solo repertoire for the adjudicator and a live audience. Participants must perform the final round program as submitted in their registration.

Results will be announced upon conclusion of the final round.

Finalists will also perform in a masterclass for the adjudicator on Saturday, January 21, 2023 (10 am to 12 pm in von Kuster Hall).

The adjudicator for the 2023 competition will be Professor David Rogosin of Mount Allison University.

Adjudicator Biography

David Rogosin

Pianist David Rogosin has performed across Canada, in the American midwest, the Caribbean and France. Praised for the brilliance, clarity and passion of his performances, he is highly regarded as a performer, adjudicator and clinician. Aside from solo recitals, Rogosin is a frequent collaborator and chamber player with a particular passion for the two-piano repertoire. In addition, his lecture-recitals on Messiaen, Dallapiccola, Scriabin, Southam and Haydn have been enthusiastically received.

Rogosin has released two solo recordings. Incandescence (2005) features the music of Messiaen, Brahms, Bartók and Dallapiccola, and garnered much praise and frequent airplay on CBC. Evocation (2012) highlights the music of Scarlatti, Haydn, Albéniz, Mompou, Ravel, Morel and Southam, and was nominated for an ECMA “Classical Recording of the Year”  award. His third, Theme : Variation, is a chronological survey of keyboard works in variation form from the past 400 years. Scheduled for release in March 2023 by Leaf Music, it includes pieces by Gibbons, Sweelinck, Handel, Mozart, Beethoven, Chopin, Babbitt, and a specially-commissioned work by colleague Dr. Kevin Morse.

Professor at Mount Allison University since 2001, he was awarded that institution’s Paul Paré Excellence Award in 2013, and in March, 2019 he was named to the prestigious position of Pickard-Bell Memorial Chair in Music for a five-year tenure. In April 2019, Dr. Rogosin served as one of three jurors for the 42nd Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition in Brandon, MB.

Apart from classical music, Rogosin enjoys jazz, world music, cooking and woodworking, and holds the rank of shodan in aikido.

Previous Winners

Songlee Kim headshot 2021-22
Congratulations to Songlee Kim, winner of the 2022 Fred Pattison Competition. This year’s competition was adjudicated by Li Wang.

Ian Pepper 2020-21
Congratulations to Ian Pepper, winner of the 2021 Fred Pattison Competition. This year’s competition was adjudicated by James Parker.

Terrence Wu headshot 2019-20
Congratulations to Terrence Wu, winner of the 2020 Fred Pattison Competition. Terrence's livestream public performance was recorded on February 4, 2021 in von Kuster Hall. This year’s competition was adjudicated by Sofya Bugayan.

kevin lu 2018-19
Congratulations to Kevin Lu, winner of the 2019 Fred Pattison Competition. Kevin's public performance was given on January 23, 2020 in von Kuster Hall. This year’s competition was adjudicated by Yael Weiss.

elizabeth vogel 2017-18
Congratulations to Elizabeth Vogel, winner of the 2018 Fred Pattison Competition. Elizabeth's public performance was given on Thursday, January 24, 2019 in von Kuster Hall. This year’s competition was adjudicated by Enrico Elisi.

Ethan Lacey headshot 2016-17
Congratulations to Ethan Lacey, winner of the 2017 Fred Pattison Competition. His public performance was given on Thursday, January 25, 2018 in von Kuster Hall. This year’s competition was adjudicated by David Jalbert.

James Masschelein headshot 2015-16
Congratulations to James Masschelein winner of the 2016 Fred Pattison Piano Competition. His public performance was given on Thursday, January 26, 2017 in von Kuster Hall. This year's competition was adjudicated by Jimmy Brière.

Bryce Lansdell headshot 2014-15
Congratulations to Bryce Lansdell winner of the 2015 Fred Pattison Piano Competition. His public performance was given on Thursday, January 28, 2016 in von Kuster Hall.

Dan Luong headshot 2013-14
Congratulations to Dan Luong winner of the 2014 Fred Pattison Piano Competition.

Vladimir Soloviev headshot 2012-13
Congratulations to  Vladimir Soloviev  winner of the  2013 Fred Pattison Piano Competition .

Bryn Blackwood headshot 2011-12
Bryn Blackwood was the winner of the 2012 Fred Pattison Piano Competition on Friday January 27, 2012. Bryn presented a recital on Thursday January 24, 2013 at 8:00 p.m. in von Kuster Hall.

Vladimir Soloviev 2010-11
Congratulations to Vladimir Soloviev who won the 2011 Fred Pattison Piano Competition! All three finalists played brilliantly - the other two were Edgar Robert Suski and Brian Barber. Attending the competition were Mrs. Anne Pattison and their daughter Elizabeth. The 8:00 p.m. final round concert marked the first time the Don Wright Faculty of Music presented a live streamed event. Vladimir presented a recital on Thursday January 26, 2012 at 8:00 p.m. in von Kuster Hall.

Ingrid Gan headshot 2009-10
Ingrid Gan was the winner of the 2009-10 Fred Pattison Competition. Ingrid was a student of Gwen Beamish.

2008-2009 Winners 2008-09
Congratulations to Neal Cabigon, winner of the inaugural Fred Pattison Competition. Neal came to Western after a year in the Science Faculty of his hometown University of Regina, Saskatchewan. He is in the third year of the Honours Performance program. (left to right: Mrs. Pattison, Dr. Pattison, Sara Laimon (Adjudicator), Neal Cabigon)

Contact Information

Kyung Kim, D.M.A
Fred Pattison Competition Co-ordinator
519-661-2111 85368