Young-Ja Park 2022-23 Chamber Music Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2022-23 Young-Ja Park Chamber Music Award winners - Patricio Flores-Esquivel, violin, Meagan Foster, marimba, and Lianna Grace, piano. The trio are coached by faculty member Brett Kingsbury.

Chamber music program faculty coordinators Jana Starling and Thomas Wiebe selected the winning chamber group selected based on their collaboration leading up to and including their performance during the November 2022 chamber music showcase concert series. Both coordinators were impressed by the commitment and quality which characterized all the performances throughout the event.

The group performed the first movement (I. Introduction) from Trio for Violin, Marimba, and Piano by Colin Martin, and the students look forward to presenting their winners' recital in March as part of the winter term's chamber music recital series

The Young-Ja Park Chamber Music Award is awarded annually to full-time Don Wright Faculty of Music graduate and/or undergraduate students performing in a Chamber Music group who are being recognized as members of the most promising Chamber Music Group. 

This award was established with a generous gift from Mr. Ok-Kyu Park in memory of his wife, Young-Ja Park. As an immigrant from South Korea, Mrs. Park prioritized musical education for her family and was a driving force in inspiring such dedication to classical music within the London community. Though she was never formally trained, Mrs. Park had an inherent love of classical music, and especially enjoyed the interactive spirit of chamber music. The award was set up by members of the family.