Audition Information for Voice

voice banner

Applicants must:

1. Be prepared to sing three songs of contrasting nature at the Conservatory Grade VIII level (Grade X for prospective Performance candidates). At least one of these songs must be in a language other than English.

2. Be required to demonstrate their vocal range.

3. Be prepared to sight-sing material at the Conservatory Grade VI level.

A note on audition repertoire:

It is advised that voice applicants to Western avoid Musical Theatre selections on their audition for the entrance audition. Since undergraduate lessons and performances focus on art song, oratorio and operatic material we need to ensure that students have sufficient ability to succeed in the bel canto, art song tradition rather than the music theatre (Contemporary Commercial Music) tradition.

There are Musical Theatre opportunities during studies at Western, but the focus will be on "classical" voice. Jurors want to hear singers performing in foreign languages since this too is an important element of their bel canto voice training - Italian, French and German are required languages on applied juries. Auditions that do not demonstrate some experience, facility and affinity for these languages will be less compelling.


Voice Faculty

Theodore Baerg 
tbaerg@uwo.ca
baritone

Margie Bernal
mbernal5@uwo.ca
soprano

Torin Chiles
tchiles@uwo.ca
tenor

Barbara Dunn-Prosser
bdunnpro@uwo.ca
soprano

Gloria Gassi
ggassi@uwo.ca
soprano

Patricia Green 
Voice division coordinator
mezzo@uwo.ca
mezzo-soprano

Bethany Hörst
bhorst2@uwo.ca
soprano

Anita Krause-Wiebe
akrausew@uwo.ca
mezzo-soprano

Rachel Mallon
rmallon@uwo.ca
soprano

Sophie Roland
sroland2@uwo.ca
mezzo-soprano

Jackalyn Short
jshort4@uwo.ca
soprano

Jennie Such
jsuch2@uwo.ca
soprano

James Westman
jwestma7@uwo.ca
baritone

Todd Wieczorek
twieczor@uwo.ca
baritone

Michael Cavanagh
mcavana5@uwo.ca
Acting for Singers

Barb Sarma
bsarma2@uwo.ca
Movement for singers


For More Information on Auditions Contact

Odilla Van Delinder
Admissions Officer
Don Wright Faculty of Music
Western University
Talbot College, Room 210
1151 Richmond Street
London, Ontario N6A 3K7

519-661-2044
519-661-3531 (fax)
ovandeli@uwo.ca