Mohamed-Aly Farag, MMus (Composition) graduate, premieres new Flute Concerto with Cairo Symphony

July 2016: MMus graduate Mohamed-Aly ("Mo") Farag has recently composed a new Flute Concerto which was premiered by Peter Olah, flute, with the Cairo Symphony Orchestra, led by conductor Mohamed Basha. Farag completed his MMus (Composition) thesis for orchestra "Nashaz" in 2010, supervised by Music Research and Composition Department faculty member Peter Paul Koprowski.

Mohamed-Aly Farag, MMus'10, is a violinist and composer based in Cairo, Egypt and working full time in section 1st violin of the Cairo Symphony Orchestra. Compositional accomplishments include his MMus thesis: “Nashaz” for Orchestra Sonata for Flute and Piano (performed in the Cairo Opera House); Antonín Dvořák International Composition Competition, 2012, Prague, Czech Republic, 3rd prize winner senior category Zvi Zeitlin Memorial International Composition Competition, U.S.A. 4th prize winner.

Watch the premiere (22:29 min):
Saturday, June 4, 2016, Main Hall, Cairo Opera House

I. Prelude 0:15
II. Toccata 4:54
III. Aria 9:08
IV. Capriccio 14:14

Related links:

Thesis: Narshaz: for orchestra - Composition Quarter-tones Arabic orchestral music Maquam (Western Libraries)

Biography: Mohamed-Aly Farag