Maritsa Brookes Concerto Competition 2023-24 Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2023-24 Maritsa Brookes Concerto Competition!

The winners of this year’s competition are (pictured left to right):

1st Place: Nicholas Gryniewski, Voice, who performed movements from Ravel’s Don Quichotte Á Dulcinée
2nd Place: Joseph Cantarutti, Marimba, who performed the second movement of Séjourné’s Concerto for Marima and Strings
3rd Place: Andrea He, Piano, who performed Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3
Runner Up (should a performer not be eligible the following year): Jerry Ma, Violin, who performed the first movement of Vieuxtemps’s Violin Concerto No. 4

Awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student in the Don Wright Faculty of Music at Western University on the basis of performance excellence demonstrated in a solo concerto competition, this annual competition has been a highlight for many students over the years. This award was made possible through a generous endowed donation by Maritsa Ateena Brookes (BA '57). The winners receive the honour of performing their selection in a public concert with the Western University Symphony Orchestra in the following school year (pending availability). In addition a generous monetary award is shared amongst the winners, received in the fall following the competition.

Sincere thanks to all the students who participated, their professors for helping with preparation, and their collaborative pianists for their ongoing continued support throughout the various rounds. A special thank you also goes to our distinguished jury panel which included this year:

Voice: Sandra Horst
Strings: Leonardo Lacerda
Keyboards: Thomas Green
Winds, Brass & Percussion: Ross Edwards
View bios

The final round of this year’s competition was held on Saturday, January 13 in von Kuster Hall, Music Building.

View all finalists and concert program online.

Related links

Instrument Divisions at the Don Wright Faculty of Music

Performance Competitions at the Don Wright Faculty of Music

Music Performance Studies Department