Audition Information for Voice

voice banner

Applicants must:

1. Be prepared to sing three songs of contrasting nature at the Conservatory Grade VIII level (Grade X for prospective Performance candidates). At least one of these songs must be in a language other than English.

2. Be required to demonstrate their vocal range.

3. Be prepared to sight-sing material at the Conservatory Grade VI level.

A note on audition repertoire:

It is advised that voice applicants to Western avoid Musical Theatre selections on their audition for the entrance audition. Since undergraduate lessons and performances focus on art song, oratorio and operatic material we need to ensure that students have sufficient ability to succeed in the bel canto, art song tradition rather than the music theatre (Contemporary Commercial Music) tradition.

There are Musical Theatre opportunities during studies at Western, but the focus will be on "classical" voice. Jurors want to hear singers performing in foreign languages since this too is an important element of their bel canto voice training - Italian, French and German are required languages on applied juries. Auditions that do not demonstrate some experience, facility and affinity for these languages will be less compelling.

Theodore Baerg  - email: tbaerg@uwo.ca
baritone

Margie Bernal - email: mbernal5@uwo.ca
soprano

Torin Chiles - email: tchiles@uwo.ca
tenor

Barbara Dunn-Prosser - email: bdunnpro@uwo.ca
soprano

Gloria Gassi  - email: ggassi@uwo.ca
soprano

Patricia Green (Voice division coordinator) - email: mezzo@uwo.ca
mezzo-soprano

Bethany Horst - email: bhorst2@uwo.ca
soprano

Tora Klassen - email: tklasse@uwo.ca
soprano

Anita Krause-Wiebe - email: akrausew@uwo.ca
mezzo-soprano

Brian McIntosh - email: bmcint6@uwo.ca
bass-baritone

Rachel Mallon - email: rmallon@uwo.ca
soprano

Jennifer Moir - email: jmoir@uwo.ca
soprano

Sophie Roland - email: sroland2@uwo.ca
mezzo-soprano

Jackalyn Short - email: jshort4@uwo.ca
soprano

Jennie Such - email: jsuch2@uwo.ca
soprano

James Westman - email: jwestma7@uwo.ca
baritone

Todd Wieczorek - email: twieczor@uwo.ca
baritone

*****

Michael Cavanagh - email: mcavana5@uwo.ca
Acting for Singers

Barb Sarma - email: bsarma2@uwo.ca
Movement for singers

 

Odilla Van Delinder, Admissions Officer
Don Wright Faculty of Music
Western University
Talbot College, Room 210
1151 Richmond Street
London, ON
N6A 3K7

Phone: 519-661-2044
Fax: 519-661-3531
E-mail: ovandeli@uwo.ca